C-CED

C-CED

Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration

Project description

Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration (C-CED) is a flagship project in which a sustainable and closed carbon cycle is being established by combining and demonstrating different CO2 capture and utilization technologies. In the project, CO2 from various sources is captured on a pilot scale and converted into valuable renewable methane (methanation).
Methane as a carbon-containing energy carrier, but also as a raw material, plays an important role in many industrial processes. From today’s point of view, a complete abandonment is hardly conceivable, even though CO2 is often produced in these processes. Gaseous energy carriers, characterized by a high energy density and by the existing infrastructure, stand out as an excellent energy storage medium. At the same time, there are also industrial processes, where CO2 does not originate from fuels and CO2 emissions are unavoidable. Based on these considerations, it seems reasonable to establish a carbon cycle economy with seasonal large-volume storage facilities that provide the flexibility we urgently need for the switch to a renewable energy system.
Grafic CCED process chain

The C-CED project is essentially working on two research areas:

  1. Research and/or demonstration of CO2 capture from real gases:
    • Amine scrubbing for CO2 capture from steel industry waste gases
    • CO2 separation by membrane separation process
    • utilization of CO2 contained in biogas
    • development of a novel Direct Air Capture (DAC) process
  2. The area of CO2 utilization focuses on methanation in this project. Research and/or demonstration will be carried out on the following technologies:
    • Bioelectrochemical processes
    • Flexibilization of geo-methanation from the Underground Sun Conversion project

In the Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration Project, the interaction of different technologies for the formation of a closed sustainable carbon cycle including the storage functions necessary for the energy system of the future will be investigated for the first time. The technical-scientific investigations are complemented by techno-economic analyses.

Factsheet

Project video

Presentation of the project

Project News

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

CCED Logo

Klimafonds Logo

Vorzeigeregion Energie

C-CED

C-CED

Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration

Projektbeschreibung

Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration (C-CED) ist ein Leitprojekt, in dem durch die Kombination und Demonstration verschiedener CO2 Abscheide- und CO2 Verwertungstechnologien ein nachhaltiger und geschlossener Kohlenstoffkreislauf etabliert werden soll. Dabei wird im Pilotmaßstab CO2 aus verschiedenen Quellen abgeschieden und in wertvolles erneuerbares Methan umgewandelt (Methanisierung).
Methan als kohlenstoffhaltiger Energieträger, aber auch als Rohstoff, spielt in vielen industriellen Prozessen eine bedeutende Rolle. Eine vollständige Abkehr ist aus heutiger Sicht kaum denkbar, auch wenn in diesen Prozessen oft CO2 entsteht. Gasförmige Energieträger zeichnen sich durch eine hohe Energiedichte und durch die vorhandene Infrastruktur als hervorragendes Energiespeichermedium aus. Gleichzeitig gibt es auch industrielle Prozesse, bei denen CO2 Freisetzungen, die nicht vom eingesetzten Brennstoff herrühren, unvermeidbar sind. Aus diesen Überlegungen erscheint es sinnvoll, eine Kohlenstoffkreislaufwirtschaft zu etablieren, die unter Einbeziehung von saisonalen großvolumigen Speichern zugleich die Flexibilität schafft, die wir auf Grund der Umstellung auf erneuerbare Energiegewinnung dringend brauchen.
Grafik CCED Prozesskette

Das Projekt C-CED bearbeitet im Wesentlichen zwei Forschungsbereiche gemeinsam:

  1. Forschung und/oder Demonstration von CO2-Abtrennung aus realen Gasen:
    • Aminwäscher zur CO2 Abtrennung aus Abgasen der Stahlindustrie
    • CO2 Abtrennung durch Membrantrennverfahren
    • Nutzung von im Biogas enthaltenem CO2
    • Entwicklung eines neuartigen Direct Air Capture (DAC) Verfahren
  2. Der Bereich CO2-Verwertung fokussiert im gegenständlichen Projekt auf die Methanisierung. Forschung und/oder Demonstration erfolgt dabei an folgenden Technologien:
    • Bioelektrochemische Verfahren
    • Flexibilisierung der Geo-Methanisierung aus dem Underground Sun Conversion Projekt

Im Carbon – Cycle Economy Demonstration Projekt wird erstmals das Zusammenwirken unterschiedlicher Technologien zur Bildung eines geschlossenen nachhaltigen Kohlenstoffkreislaufs unter Einbeziehung der für das Energiesystem der Zukunft notwendigen Speicherfunktionen untersucht. Die technisch-wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen werden durch techno-ökonomische Analysen ergänzt.

Factsheet

Projektvideo

Vorstellung des Projektes
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Projekt News

Keine Ergebnisse gefunden

Die angefragte Seite konnte nicht gefunden werden. Verfeinern Sie Ihre Suche oder verwenden Sie die Navigation oben, um den Beitrag zu finden.

CCED Logo

Klimafonds Logo

Vorzeigeregion Energie